University Council

The University Council is the supreme policy formulation organ of the University. Council is also responsible for the overall administration of the University and ensuring the due implementation of the objects and functions of the University.

Busitema University Council consists of different stakeholders among them prominent public and business people, and a representation from the University Staff, and students.

The Council functions through one (1) board and four (4) committees namely:

  • Appointments Board
  • Finance, Planning and Investment Committee
  • Student Affairs and Disciplinary Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Quality Assurance, Gender and ICT Committee


  External Members  
1. Government Appointee (Chairperson) Mr. Gideon Ologe Obbo
2. Government Appointee (Vice Chairperson) Ms. Rosemary I. Mutyabule
3. Government Appointee Professor Elly Sabiiti
4. Council Appointee Professor Venansius Baryamureeba
5 Council Appointee Ms. Julia Oyet
6 Council Appointee Dr. Charles Otim
7 Ministry of Education, Science, Technology and Sports Ms. Mercy Mugoowa
8 Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development. Mr. Laban Mbulamuko
9 Representative of People with Disability Mr. Aloysius Kiribaki
10 Representative of Busia Local Government Mr. Raymond Ochieng
11 Representative of Uganda Investment Authority Mr. Richard Tebandeke
12 Representative of Ministry of Public Service  Mr. James Ojok
Internal Members
13 Vice Chancellor Professor Paul Waako
14 1st Deputy Vice Chancellor Dr. Samuel Baker Kucel
15 Representative of Senate
16 Representative of Senate Dr. Wilson Babu Musinguzi
17 Representative of Academic Staff Dr. Alice Nakiyemba
18 Representative of Academic Staff Mr. Leonard Wamakote
19 Representative of Administrative Staff Mr. Humphrey Obussoh Taabu
20 Representative of Support Staff Mr. Deogratius Ochowo Nyapalapala
21 Student Representative (Male) Mr. Patrick Omare
22 Student Representative (Female) Ms. Doreen Nafuna
23 University Secretary
(Secretary to Council)
Mr. Abert Matsiko Mutungwire