Council profiles


Welcome to Busitema University Website!

Busitema University is a multi-campus public University located in Eastern Uganda that was established by Statutory Instrument No. 22 as required by Section 22 (1) and (2) of the Universities and Other Tertiary Institution Act 2001 as amended.  Her campuses are Busitema, Nagongera, Namasagali, Arapai, Pallisa, Mbale and Kaliro.

The University Council is the supreme policy formulation organ of the University and draws its mandate from Sections 38 – 43 of the Universities and Other Tertiary Institutions Act 2001 as amended. Council is responsible for the overall administration of the University and ensuring implementation of the objects and functions of the University.  To achieve its mandate the University Council, is therefore responsible for the direction of the administrative, financial and academic affairs of the University; formulation of the general policy of the Public University; gives general guidelines to the administration and academic staff of the University on matters relating to operations of the University; does any other thing and takes all necessary decisions conducive to the fulfillment of the objects and functions of the University.

Busitema University Council has four Committees through which it performs its functions.  They include; Finance, Planning and Investment Committee; Student Affairs and Disciplinary Committee; Audit Committee; Quality Assurance, Gender and ICT Committee. The Council also appoints both Academic and Administrative staff through the Appointments Board as established by law.

Membership to Council and Council Committees is constituted according to the provisions of the University and Other Tertiary Institutions Act 2001 as amended and the Busitema University Council Charter.  The members of the 3rd Council and Council Committees for the period 2016 – 2020 are as follows:-

Busitema University Council Members

Mr. Gideon Ologe Obbo

Chairperson Busitema University Council

Representative of Government


Ms. Rosemary Iwani Mutyabule

Vice Chairperson Council

Representative of Government



Professor Venansius Baryamureeba

Chairperson Appointments Board

Council Appointee


Second Vice Chancellor

Dr. Samuel Baker Kucel

1st Deputy Vice Chancellor

Professor Elly N. Sabiiti

Chairperson Student Affairs and Disciplinary Committee

Representative of Government



Mrs. Julia Olima Oyet

Chairperson Finance, Planning and Investment Committe

Mr. Aloysius Kiribaki

Chairperson Quality Assurance, Gender and ICT Committee

Representative of People with Disability






Mr. Laban Mbulamuko

Representative of the Ministry of Finance, Planning and Economic Development

Ms. Mercy Mugoowa

Representative of the Ministry of Education and Sports

Dr. Charles Peter Otim

Council Appointee

Mr. Raymond Edward Ochieng

Representative Busia District Local Government



Dr. Wilson Musinguzi

Dean, Faculty of Engineering

Representative of Senate.


Prof. Julius Wandabwa

Dean, Faculty of Health Sciences

Representative of Senate




Dr. Alice Nakiyemba Were

Representative of Academic Staff

Mr. Leonard Wamakote

Representative of Academic Staff





Mr. Humphreys Obussoh Taabu

Representative of Administrative Staff

Mr. Deogratius Ochwo Nyapalapala

Representative of Support Staff






Mr. Patrick Omare

Guild President

Student Representative

Ms. Doreen Nafuna

Secretary General

Student Representative